Email Address*
* Required fields


2018 Sculpture Awards and Exhibition

Monument to the long term perils of short term politics (2016 Sculpture Awards and Exhibition WINNER)

Michael Purdy


Sydney sandstone and steel

240cm. X 120cm. X 120cm.

1,500 Kgs

Life's Desperate Struggle (2016 Peoples Choice Award)

Joe Bartolo


Forged mild steel, mig and oxy welded together

200 cm. X 60 cm. X 350 cm.

51 Kgs

Melody of Equilibrium (2016 Janice Reid Emerging Artist Award)

Lisa Tolcher


Steel and paint

9 pieces, each 92 cm. diameter

60 Kgs each

(View Map)
4 May - 3 Jun 2018

Western Sydney University Sculpture Awards and Exhibition 2018.

The University of Western Sydney is pleased to announce the 2018 UWS Sculpture Award and Exhibition Finalists:

Robert Barnstone           Jennifer Cochrane           Hilde A. Danielsen

Merran Esson                John Fitzmaurice             Jenny Green

Paul Handley                 Christopher Hodges         Neil Laredo

Chris Leaver                  Dan Lorrimer                   Dale Miles

Ludwig Mlcek                Shaelene Murray             Denese Oates

John Petrie                    Louis Pratt                       Michael Purdy

Ayato Saito                    Barry Tate                       Marcus Tatton

Lisa Tolcher                  Jacek Wankowski

We would like to thank all our entrants for their submissions.

This exhibition aims to establish closer links between the University and artists, and engage with the community by providing a valuable educational and cultural resource, as well as enhancing the campus environment for teaching and learning. The Western Sydney University Sculpture Award showcases major works by significant Australian and international artists, who have created sculptures especially for the University's Campbelltown Campus.

Prizes in the 2018 Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition:

Western Sydney University Acquisitive Sculpture Award - valued up to $30,000

UrbanGrowth NSW People's Choice Award - $5,000 (non-acquisitive)

Janice Reid Site Specific Sculpture Award - $5,000 (non-acquisitive)

Proudly sponsored by :                            


Curatorial Panel for 2018 Sculpture Award

Alison Clark:

Alison Clark has over 25 years’ experience in the local government, regional and commercial gallery sector in curatorial and arts management roles. She has worked extensively as a curator and project manager and is currently the Team Leader Arts & Culture at North Sydney Council. In this role Alison is responsible for overseeing a range of creative initiatives including Council’s Artist Studio, Residency & Creative Spaces programs, Public Art projects and commissions, and the biennial North Sydney Art Prize. In 2013 she revitalised the North Sydney Art Prize, now a large scale site specific 16-day exhibition held at the Coal Loader in Waverton and in 2014 established the North Sydney Public Art Trail, a major place-making, cultural development and cultural tourism initiative launched in 2016.

David Jensz:

David Jensz is an innovative contemporary sculptor whose practice spans studio-based works and public art commissions. His practice is informed by physics and contemporary theories of space and time to investigate the nature of being. Jensz taught part-time at the Australian National University, School of Art (1988 to 2017) and now works from his studio at Murrumbateman, near Canberra. He has made 28 solo exhibitions in Australia, America and Thailand, including most recently at McClelland Gallery, Melbourne 2016 and O.K.Harris Gallery, New York (2010, 2004, 2000 and 1997). His work was selected for major survey exhibitions including: McClelland Sculpture Prize (2012, 2003) Helen Lempriere National Sculpture Award (2005, 2006) National Sculpture Prize, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra (2001, 2003, and 2005). He has received many grants and awards including an Asialink Scholarship to Thailand (1994) the Australia Council New York Studio (1995) and the Australia Council Tokyo Studio (2000). He was commissioned to make various Public Sculptures: “Spatial Dimension” in Newcastle (1998) and in Canberra, including “Raised Pinnacle” Australian National University (1998) “Fractal Weave”, Civic Square (2006) “Life Cycle” Bunda Street (2010) and “Culture Fragment”, Woden (2012).

Sophia Kouyoumdjian:

Sophia Kouyoumdjian has worked in the arts sector for over 15 years across directorial, curatorial and exhibition management roles. Currently the Coordinator, Parramatta Artist’s Studios and previously the Acting Director and Curator at Blacktown Arts Centre, Sophia has comprehensive experience in Western Sydney’s contemporary arts sector. Sophia Kouyoumdjian is the guest curator of the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia’s (MCA) Primavera 2017: Young Australian Artists exhibition.

Monica McMahon:

Monica McMahon has been the Western Sydney University Art Curator since 2002 and during this period she has established three galleries on its campuses. She is the exhibition program manager for all following Western Sydney University galleries; Margaret Whitlam Galleries (Parramatta Campus), Margot Hardy Gallery (Bankstown Campus) and the Western Sydney University Art Gallery (Werrington North, Penrith Campus) which are recognized public galleries. Monica is the artistic director of the Western Sydney University Acquisitive Sculpture Award and Exhibition (biannual outdoor exhibition held on the University's Campbelltown Campus), which was established in 2004. She is also the curator of the University's permanent art collection, responsible for the promotion, development, research and management of the collection which is distributed throughout the University's six campuses across Western Sydney.

Judging Panel:

Alison Clark

David Jensz

Sophia Kouyoumdjian